Modest Mumblings of a Modern Mommy

Loving and learning to be a mom

Three Months Old October 11, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommywilcox @ 8:21 pm

My Sweet Grace,

 I cannot believe that you are three months old today!  That’s a quarter of a year!  It seems like just yesterday that I was going back and forth to the doctor hoping that we were dilated and ready to have you, and yet you were a slowpoke and needed some extra help coming to meet us! 

 You have changed so much during this short time.  You smile and squeal and are not afraid to express your emotions!  I love when you play on your playmat and kick the jungle animals because you get so excited that you shriek in a tone that only dogs (and mommy) can hear.  Even though it frustrates me, I think it’s kinda cute how you try to wiggle out of your new diaper when I’m changing you.  You have outgrown your bassinett, but Mommy still isn’t quite ready to put you upstairs yet.  Your smile lights up a room and lights up my heart.  I love how you squirm and fuss in your bed in the morning until I turn on the lamp and you see my face and then everything is better. 

You are getting so big.  I can’t believe I’m saying that because I have worried so much and lost so much sleep over your weight gain and spitting up, but your new medicines seem to be doing the trick.  I don’t mind doing all of the laundry that accompanies your having reflux.  I am so glad that we didn’t have to give up nursing because there is nothing more rewarding and intimate than that time with you. 

You have taught me how to love more selflessly.  Your mommy and daddy love you immeasurably.  Your arrival has even taught your mommy and daddy to love each other more. 

I am so excited to be your mommy and watch you roll over, sit up, crawl, walk, eat table food, and do many other wonderful things this first year.  I can’t wait for us to practice saying “mama” while daddy is at work.  😉  Eagerly though, I wait for the day when you choose to fall in love with Jesus and make Him your Savior. 

Your tiny body has brought so much joy and hope into your mommy’s life.  Thank you for offering me the greatest job I’ve ever held…staying home with you to love you and watch you grow and change. 

I love you, Mommy

 

One Response to “Three Months Old”

  1. Denise Zuccaro Says:

    Courtney,

    This is beautiful! Grace will be so blessed when she is able to read these letters from her Mommy, who loves her so much.

    Denise


Leave a comment